Walking on Sunshine

Security and Comfort

I read this post today:

A Catholic Mom climbing the Pillars: Security.

And it’s buzzing around in my mind.

If prayer gives one security, does it also give one comfort?

I can’t say that it gives me either.  It’s something that’s tacked on to the beginning of the day (sometimes).  And I try and say a quick, ‘Thank you!’  if something good happens.  But I don’t turn to prayer (and therefore don’t turn to God)  when in need of security or comfort.  And I would say here that I think security is a form of comfort.

So, given my problems with food, is prayer something I can train myself to use instead of chocolate?  Or cigarettes.

You know, I’d really like to have the kind of relationship with God that I see people writing about.  I’m not very sure how to get there but I plan to try.

Comments on: "Security and Comfort" (4)

  1. If you try, you will get there 🙂

    I find a lot of comfort in saying the rosary, especially when the family gets together to say it.

  2. Hi Laura,

    It’s nice to meet you! Totally understand what you say here as I am still struggling with some of the similar things you struggle with. My weight is a constant disappointment, and my prayer life isn’t as it always should be.

    However, that said, it has been years of growing, learning, and determination that brings me to this post and my attitude about prayer.

    Here’s hoping that you reach a closer relationship with our Lord and the comfort/security that prayer brings.

    Possible starters: find different ways of prayer: the psalms, the Lord’s prayer, quiet meditation to some chant music (lovely!), write your needs down in a journal and pray about them….keep track as to how they are answered. This really is revealing!

    Prayer to you!

  3. As you knopw, I deal with anxiety attacks. When they first started I would pray and pray and it was like God wasn’t listening to me. But then I realized that I didn’t really believe He could help because I usually turned to Him as a last resort. Then I changed my attitude and believed that He would help me through these attacks. And now I they are few and far between. And when I do feel one coming on I start focusing on God and how He is my strength. Okay, not sure I’m making much sense but I guess what I’m saying is keep on trying cause you will get there. ((hugs))

Leave a Reply

