Walking on Sunshine

Staying Power

1Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.2Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. 3Consider him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart. – Hebrews 12:1-3 (New International Version) – emphasis added.

I’ve made my decision.  And I’m happy with it.  I know I’m doing the right thing.  But I’m really worried that the decision won’t stick.  I have a history of changing my mind.  Now, I know that’s a lady’s privilege but it’s exhausting and makes me look like a teenager (which is how I feel when it happens).

So I’ve been thinking about ways to keep myself on the road I have chosen:

  1. Go to Mass as often as possible.  I’m lucky enough to have a really good Church within walking distance and they have Mass every morning.  I’m hoping that a daily dose of worship and grace will help.  Plus, I actually really like going to Mass even though I’m really Church of Scotland.
  2. Get to know people at Church.  I keep thinking about the coal that glows hot when it’s in the fire but cools rapidly when it’s alone on the hearth.  St J’s has a newcomer’s event coming up soon and I intend to be there.  I find this kind of thing really, really difficult so would welcome prayers.
  3. Integrative prayer.  I want to make prayer a regular part of daily life.  I’ve printed out some prayers and pictures and have them stuck on the walls, ready to be used.
  4. Bible reading.  I’ve scheduled an hour each evening.

Is there anything else you can think of?  All suggestions will be gratefully received!

Comments on: "Staying Power" (1)

  1. Some things that help me keep Christ were He belongs is I listen to Christian music..comtempory christian music is what I like. Also, I talk to God through out the day. Like when I’m headed to work I usually am chatting with God..like a I’m chatting with a friend.

    I’ll be praying for you. ((hugs))

Leave a Reply

