Walking on Sunshine

God Positioning System

I came across the acronym ‘GPS’ for the first time last week.  Now, I’ve had SatNav for ages.  But that’s not really what I’m referring to (much though I love being told to, ‘Turn around where possible.’)  According to ‘Bunny Trails‘ (sorry, I don’t know your name) GPS is actually:

God
Positioning
System

I think she’s right.  And I’ve been thinking about the tools I have available.  In the car it’s a TomTom. And I have occassional recourse to Google Maps.  I’ve also been known to use a street atlas but that generally resulted in getting lost as my map-reading is out of this world.  When all else fails, I stop and ask for directions.

But what about my God Positioning System?  I know what happens when I get lost spiritually.  I get all bent out of shape.  I romance ideas (and ideals) which just aren’t healthy and may be downright dangerous – a bit like going the wrong way up a one-way street.  Has God given me a GPS?

I think He has.  I have:

  • My conscience.  Now, I know it isn’t very well trained at present, but its purpose is to let me know when something’s wrong.
  • Peace.  If I’m going the right way then I have it.  Again, this is something that requires training – a bit like updating your maps on a SatNav.
  • The Bible.  This is the map I’ve to use.  If I train my conscience to check it then I’ll have peace.
  • Prayer.  Got lost?  Don’t know where to turn?  Pray with the Bible in your hand.
  • Christians.  It’s OK to stop and ask directions.

Now I just need to remember to use the tools.  Why is that so hard to do?  I’d never go out to visit a new Client without ‘Jane’ (the TomTom).  So I guess I should never start my day without prayer and the Bible.  Which reminds me – I was in such a bad mood when I got up this morning I didn’t make my Morning Offering …

Comments on: "God Positioning System" (3)

  1. First off, thanks for the well wishes. Second, LOVE this GPS reasoning. You are so right. I get tired of people who say, wish life came with instructions. Well, they did. It’s called the BIBLE. If i can figure out the linking thingy I’d like to link this article off my page. Very good advice. Last of all, I’m so excited to know I’m not the only person to name my navigation system. Her name is Navi. It was the name of a navigating fairy on a game i played years ago. Plus, it’s short for navigator. lol So glad my hubby bought that thing. It’s my second favorite GPS…next to God.

  2. I don’t know but I too struggle with “using the tools.”

    I named our GPS thingie, Sally, and my parents call theirs Nelly. 😀

  3. Thanks for the heads-up. I enjoyed your article! My name is Dianne – sorry I thought it was on my blog somewhere. Glad you enjoyed the acronym.

    Blessings,
    Dianne 😉

Leave a Reply

