Walking on Sunshine

Week 1 – 2lbs Lost

So today, as promised earlier, I weighed in at SlimmingWorld.

As I’ve not actually been following the eating plan and I haven’t exercised at all, I wasn’t feeling very confident when I stepped on the scale.  In fact, I apologised to the Consultant and the Weighing Lady for not having tried and was full of excuses and reasons.  Imagine my surprise when I watched the numbers settle to 15st 5.5lbs!

I’ve lost 2lbs just by taking the Xenical and avoiding large quantities of food which, when combined with said drug, would have me dashing for the toilet.  And it really hasn’t been that hard.  I had a Jaffa Cake and sugar in my coffee at RCIA on Friday and a little hit of chocolate after Stitch’n Bitch on Sunday.  Just imagine what I’d have lost if I’d actually followed the Plan and moved about a bit!

At this point, I’d usually be thinking about what I’d like to achieve in the week ahead.  And I’d set a goal and tell you how I plan to achieve it.  But life’s really uncertain at the moment and I don’t want to make promises I may not keep.  And tomorrow’s the day I’ll stop smoking (yes, again).  The best I can say is that I’ll do my best.  But if my mother’s in hospital and the news is bad …  Well, you get the picture.

What I’ve written sounds really defeatist and it isn’t really meant that way.  Now is not a good time to be losing weight or quitting smoking.  So I shall do the best I can with what God gives me.  And, really, that’s what we all do every day.

Comments on: "Week 1 – 2lbs Lost" (4)

  1. Congrats on the weight loss. 🙂

    I’ll be keeping you, your mom and your family in my prayers. ((hugs))

  2. Well done! Didn’t realise you were using Xenical, how does that work?

    I have won 3 months’ personal training on a women’s running club I belong to and in preparation I’m keeping a food diary (I don’t know if I’ll have to, but I will be talking to a nutritionist). Quote of the day to Matthew, as I reel at the amount of snacks I consume at work: “I left my food diary at work again. And by “diary” I mean “bit of paper”. And by “food” I mean “biscuits”. ” Oh well!

    • oops that’s me, Liz B – didn’t realise I’d be logged in as my proofreading self!

    • notjustlaura said:

      Congrats on winning that training, Liz. I hope you find it useful.

      Xenical is the same as Alli – the diet pill now available from Pharmacies – although the dose from the Dr is higher. It works by stopping your body absorbing 1/3 of the fat you eat so it passes out of the body when one uses the bathroom. The down-side is that, if you over-indulge, you’ll have diarrhoea. This is actually a *good* thing for me as just saying: ‘No chocolate, Laura,’ doesn’t work.

Leave a Reply

