Walking on Sunshine

I was in Studying Mode yesterday.  Unfortunately, today, the magic has worn off.  No … that’s not entirely true.  The magic is still there and I would love to crack on and get my TMA in on time.  The unfortunate thing is that my cold is staging a resurgence and I feel worse now than I did the first time around.  I’m feverish, coughing, wheezing, spluttering and drowning in a river of snot.  Gosh, that paints a picture, doesn’t it?

Anyway, I was looking through the things I’ve snipped from the ‘net to blog about later and came across this article from a few weeks ago:

(In)Courage: I love the smell of erasers in the fall….

When I first read it, I identified strongly with the author.  I used to be the kid who liked going back to school.  Part of that has developed into a stationery fetish and, in particular, a fascination with notebooks.  I have notebooks for everything.  If I start something new then the first thing I do is buy a notebook.  At the moment, my favourite notebook is this one.  It’s not much to look at, I know.  But it has rich, creamy, recycled paper.  The lines are just the right width for my writing.  And it’s wire-bound.  I could expound on the advantages of wire-binding but shall restrain myself.

I’m not so fussy when it comes to pens.  But they do need to be blue.  I own black, red and green too but they rarely get used.  A blue pen with a comfy grip and through which the ink flows freely – some of them are so dry or sticky – and I’m happy.

I’m not sure why I love stationery so much.  It’s a bit like asking me why I like cats.  I could tell you lots of things I like about either but the real reason I like them?  That’s buried somewhere deep inside of me.

But I think the writer of that (In)Courage article has a very valid point.  New stationery signals a new start.  You’ve turned over the page and it’s time to start over.  There are new things to learn, new experiences to enjoy and the past is over.  I’m good at fresh starts.  I’m not so good at things which require me to keep going and endure until a distant goal is reached.

One of the things I like about my Eco pads is that I use them from start to finish, albeit with different purposes.  They often start out as project notebooks or special journals and then metamorphose into shopping lists, phone messages and scribble pads.  But they do get used whereas I have various beautiful journals sitting, half-filled in a drawer.

I’m starting to see my faith as being a bit like an Eco pad.  I start of looking at it (using it, if you will) in one way, move on to another, move on again but it is constant.  Most of the time.  I think constancy of faith is something to which I will continue to aspire for a long time – probably until I reach the Pearly Gates.  But this also explains, perhaps, why Catholicism is such a good match for me – there’s always something new, or a new angle, or something to learn.  And if you’ve learned everything then another level gets unlocked and you start learning again.  At the moment I’m finding that, when I go to Mass daily, it’s like getting a new Eco pad for that day.  It’s my way of taking one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

