Walking on Sunshine

The Beautiful Gate: Wrinkles! Flab! Gray Hair!.

I really like this blogger’s take on growing older.

I didn’t bother much with my appearance until I discovered boys when I was about 13.  And then I embraced sexual allure with alacrity.  In truth, I think my mother was right when she said I looked like a prostitute.  But I got lots of male attention and, as that was what I wanted, I was happy.

Today, I’m very different.  I wear comfortable shoes.  I don’t wash my hair every day.  I rarely wear make-up.  I don’t seek or receive male attention.  And, you know what?  I’m a whole lot happier now than I was at 16.

I got my first grey hair (it’s actually silver) a couple of years ago.  And I have wrinkles round my eyes – mostly when I smile but I can see them getting deeper and more permanent.  I wouldn’t say that these are badges of honour – more signs of a mis-spent youth, I think.  But they’re me.  And I don’t desire to change them.  I use a moisturiser because I have dry skin and it gets sore if I don’t but it’s not a fancy ‘Look 10 years younger in 10 minutes’ one.  I don’t plan on colouring my hair.

This isn’t to say I don’t make some kind of effort to look nice.  And personal hygiene is a must.  But spending an hour or more every day in front of the mirror, trying to change my appearance?  No, thank you.

I’m small and round.  I wear glasses.  I work with animals.  And, at 36, I’m accepting that I’m middle-aged.  Why would any of that require me to look like a mannequin?  Sure, it’s nice to dress up once in a while but I’d rather be comfy 99% of the time.  And, you know what?  Where I am now feels pretty good 🙂

Comments on: "The Beautiful Gate: Wrinkles! Flab! Gray Hair!" (2)

  1. Here at 55 it feels pretty good too.

  2. Yep, the older I get, the more I accept myself just as I am and the more I realize the fultility of pursuing perfection in any form…

Leave a Reply

