Walking on Sunshine

Week 3 – 1lb lost

I finally gave in on Saturday.  I’d been slogging my way through the non-diet-friendly food in the freezer and accepting the resultant weight fluctuations but on Saturday I decided enough was enough and gave the food to my parents (who don’t need to diet).  With the readi-meals and full-fat mince gone, I sat down and made a proper meal-plan and then a shopping list.  A trip to Sainsburys followed.  The fridge is now full of food and I have a list of recipes to make and eat or make and freeze to restock the freezer.

  • Quorn Sausage & Mash with Onion Gravy
  • Smooth Carrot & Ginger Soup
  • Vegetable Couscous
  • Drunk Pineapple
  • Spinach Gnocchi
  • Bubble & Squeak Cakes
  • Spinach & Tomato Lasagne
  • Rustic Minestrone Soup
  • Ratatouille Sauce

I’ve gone for the ‘Green’ option with SlimmingWorld.  I’ve been doing ‘Red’ and ‘Extra Easy’ for a while and really want a change.  Plus 1lb of pasta is cheaper than 1lb of steak.  And more environmentally friendly.  And kinder to animals.  Don’t get me wrong, I love meat.  It’s generally my favourite part of a meal.  But I don’t like modern farming practices and would much prefer to eat organic/free-range meat.  As this isn’t possible on my current budget, I’m entering a phase of Virtual Vegetarianism.

I haven’t set a goal for next week’s weigh-in.  My mum’s not doing that well and everything seems uncertain – including my ability to refrain from smoking or overeating while making an effort to be more active.  If life were saner, I’d really like to lose a stone (14lbs) for Christmas.  That’d be 2lbs a week.  And to achieve that, I’d follow the eating plan and take some exercise daily.  So I shall endeavour to do this anyway but not beat myself up if events conspire against me.

Leave a Reply

