Walking on Sunshine

What’s Cooking?

Cooking is healthy, thrifty and fun.  Plus you get to enjoy the fruits of your labour (ask me why I need to slim …)  I’m in a transitional phase of my dieting efforts and will be making a post on the subject in the near future.  At the moment, I have a thumping headache and am rapidly losing my language skills in the way that only a fellow migraine sufferer will understand.  But moving swiftly on …

I really enjoy cooking.  And it’s not just because I like eating, honestly!  I enjoy the process, from picking out a recipe to finding ingredients, preparing them, watching the oven, presenting the food and, yes, I do enjoy the eating.  The washing up is less fun.  For a while there, I was eating only out of packets but I’ve managed to move beyond that and am cooking regularly again.  I’ve just done my menu-planning and online shop for next week and thought it might be fun to incorporate a cookery thread on this blog.  I tend to cook lots and freeze it and then eat from the freezer until it’s about empty before doing another shopping and cooking and freezing … you get the picture.  I don’t always shop or cook every week – it depends what’s in the freezer which depends on how hungry I am(!), how many portions a recipe made, whether I like it, whether I’m home, etc.  So I’m not going to promise you a regular thread on this one (and you all know how reliable I am, anyway!)  But, each time I menu-plan, I will let you know what I’m planning to cook in the week ahead and invite you to do likewise in comments.

Here’s the first instalment:

  • Sweet Potato Soup
  • Chunky Minestrone Soup
  • Cream of Tomato Soup
  • Mixed Vegetable Skinny Soup
  • Quorn Penne Bolognese
  • Smoked Haddock Gratin
  • Kofta Curry
  • Butternut Squash Pappardelle

Now, if that little lot doesn’t keep me fed for a week or two I shall want to know the reason why!

What’s cooking in your house?

Leave a Reply

