Walking on Sunshine

Today is a day of both joy and sadness.  Joy comes from squeezing myself into size 18 trousers after holding up my size 22s for a week.  I evidently need size 20 but don’t seem to have any.  Sadness is my disposition in response to some personal problems which I’m not ready to write about.  The good news is that I have not leapt into a vat of chocolate in response to them.  Although I am sorely tempted.  Unfortunately even this chocoholic knows that eating till she feels sick won’t actually change the situation.  So I’m reading instead.  What virtue.

I’ve lost 2lbs since my last weigh-in (Wednesday) and, having abandoned WeightWatchers, I’ve not been constantly hungry which is a big improvement.  I am, however, in a state of indecision about SlimmingWorld and will not be going to a meeting this week – there’s no point paying for it unless I’ve decided to do it 100%.  Sister J (biological sister, not religious!) is sending me a copy of the latest SW plans and she’s told me about the changes that have been made since I was last a member.  For the past week I have, therefore, been following the ExtraEasy plan in its latest format.  All except the cupcake.  But it was only one so let’s move swiftly on, shall we?

I’m not finding ExtraEasy very easy at all.  I don’t like fruit much and vegetables not at all.  I eat them in small quantities because they’re good for me but the day I put a piece of broccoli in my mouth and say:

What a lovely piece of broccoli!

will remain forever in the realms of fiction.  And the new ExtraEasy requires you to eat one third ‘SuperFree’ food at each meal.  SuperFree is basically equal to fruit’n’veg.  Which is fine if you like them.  It isn’t fine if you have to choke them down and would really rather not have them at all, thanks.  Meals have become a bit of a chore.  I’m eating less than I would like and I’ve lost weight.  But I don’t know that I can live like this.

So I’m thinking again.  SW does offer the Original (or, as it is commonly known ‘Red’) plan which has suited me well in the past but it’s expensive.  And I’ve survived on Green in the past but would not like to do so again.  Mix2Max is available too but that limits one’s opportunities for snacking so isn’t the best option for me.  So SW has lots of options but none of them quite fits.

Meantime I’ve been thinking about The Maker’s Diet (book arrived at the weekend – I’ve flipped through it but not read it) and how God might intend a 21st Century female to eat.  I don’t have an answer yet – just lots of questions and an instinct that says:

If it’s unpronounceable, it’s uneatable.

And then there’s the exercise question.  And I don’t have the energy to tackle that tonight.

My goal for the next week is to eat healthily, refrain from bingeing, walk as much as possible (instead of taking the car) and see what my weight is next Monday.

Comments on: "8th February 2010 – 14st 8lbs" (1)

  1. Congratulations on your weight loss 🙂 I struggled for years after the birth of my daughter to rid myself of extra weight. It was important that I lose it because of my high diabetes risk. It took a long time but finally I am at a good weight. I will keep you in my prayers 🙂 God bless you!

Leave a Reply

