Walking on Sunshine

Stop Bingeing!

Once again I find myself unhappy with my diet.

The truth is, I hate being on a diet.  I hate the counting.  I hate the decisions.  I hate the restriction.  I want to be able to eat a normal, healthy dinner and not think about it.

My weight-problems aren’t really connected to what I eat for dinner.  My problem is bingeing.  Comfort eating.  Emotional eating.  Boredom eating.  Call it what you will.  Eating meat and two veg has not made me fat.  Chocolate and crisps and cake have made me fat.  Or, at least, my decision to over-indulge on fatty, sugary foods has.

I can lose weight on a diet.  But I can’t stay on a diet.  And, at the moment, being on a diet is making me unhappy and frustrated.  So I’ve been thinking a lot this week about what I can do differently.  And I’ve been thinking about what, in my extensive dieting experience, works and what doesn’t.  And that’s what works for me – not a super-model.

I gained weight when I was very ill and binged and binged and binged.  There were various reasons for the bingeing some of which have resolved.  I have new coping strategies for the bits that aren’t resolved and, while these aren’t always Laura-proof, I don’t actually binge that often when I’m not dieting.  I do binge when I’m dieting, even if it’s on diet-friendly food like cottage cheese.

If I stop bingeing (and get a bit more active) I should, therefore, lose weight.  And the way to stop bingeing is to stop dieting.  And that takes me back to work I did with my first Counsellor (Counsellor C) a number of years ago.  She gave me a booklet of ‘eating instructions’ and I followed the advice therein.  The instructions aren’t rocket science – eat wholefoods, avoid sugar, eat little and often – but they work.  And they don’t result in my feeling deprived or frustrated which every other diet does.

So I’m going back on Counsellor C’s plan.

I’ve actually been kind of doing it for the past week and, having lost 2lbs, feel content about continuing.

Comments on: "Stop Bingeing!" (2)

  1. Have you heard of a book called Shrink Yourself or a program called Light Weigh? They both help you deal with emotional eating, the first from a psychological perspective and the second from a spiritual (Catholic) perspective. The Shrink Yourself author even has an online program you can sign up for. I have only subscribed to the free newsletters and am making my way through the book. The main idea in both programs is eating what you want, but always practicing moderation and overcoming your emotional connection with food.

  2. Keep going! When I crave something like cookies, cakes, etc…I reach for a fruit instead. It doesn’t always satisfies my cravings, but sometimes it works because I just wanted something sweet.

Leave a Reply

