Walking on Sunshine

Shepherding My Sheep: Father’s homily on March 7, 2010.

I read this post today and thought ‘Uhuh.’  In a good way – not a bad way.

Since coming across that passage in Acts, I’ve been thinking a lot about what being Catholic means – and what it means in a practical way.  Being Catholic means that I’m a little different and that difference should show in my life.  So, in what way is my life different now compared to what it looked like before the Easter Vigil?

I’m conscious that I’m resting on my laurels.  I’m Catholic.  I’ve arrived.  But am I praying?  Am I making little sacrifices?  Am I going to Mass as often as I can?  I’m not very happy at my answers to these questions or the way I measure up to the picture painted in Acts.

It’s progress I need, not perfection.  And I was reminded at RCIA to leave the guilt behind and just do my best to make small, sustainable changes.  So my goal is to spend some time tomorrow thinking and praying about what I can do to live out what I believe.  I’m going to make a list and then choose one item to work on at a time.  Watch this space.

Comments on: "Shepherding My Sheep: Father’s homily on March 7, 2010" (2)

  1. Laura, we can all do more. Pray more, attend mass more (I attend M-F, mostly, and Sunday, but there’s always Saturday…)spend time in front of the Blessed Sacrament, learn our faith more (spiritual reading and listening). But you’re right. Pick one thing, do it, get used to it, be consistent, then add something. Fr. Larry Richards suggests spending 5 minutes a day in prayer. Live by the motto “No Bible, no breakfast, no Bible, no bed.” Read 5 or so verses every day. Good luck. I’ll be praying for you, and watching.

    • notjustlaura said:

      Hi David

      Thanks for such an encouraging message and for your prayers. I’ll keep working on it …

      Laura

Leave a Reply

