Walking on Sunshine

I’m working through CWR’s Inspiring Women Every Day for New Christians at the moment.  I know I’m not a new Christian and I know this isn’t a Catholic resource but it’s something I like to work through periodically.  I actually meant to do it during Lent as the study of John’s Gospel lasts 40 days but didn’t (for no very good reason, I may add!)  I’m applying the Bible reading method I was taught in RCIA for each passage the booklet directs me to read.  And then I read the notes that go along with it from the booklet.  This is forcing me to slow down enough to actually read it and think about the message instead of skimming over the words and ticking ‘Done.’  I’ve found I’m getting much more out of it (and it’s taking a lot longer!) than my previous efforts and I actually feel nourished and satisfied when I’m done although I’d often like even more.  I’ve noticed that, since the Easter Vigil, I seem to have a real hunger for God and all things Godly – prayer, Mass, Bible reading – but I don’t feel empty at all.  It’s not that kind of hunger.  Very odd and I’m sorry I can’t explain it more clearly.

Anyway.  I thought I’d share some of the lightbulb moments I’m experiencing.  I don’t have anything very profound to say, mind you, and most of it is probably glaringly obvious to everyone but me!  But, humour me?  Please!  I’ve saved some draft posts and will try to start writing and posting tomorrow. I would start now but my supper and bed are calling …

Leave a Reply

