Walking on Sunshine

Last week I’d maintained my weight and decided it was time to make a change to my eating plan.  I told you that I’d cut out one of my snacks and see how things went.  In fact, I watched the scales for a few days and then cut out both of them.  And I’ve lost two pounds this week so we’re back in business and I’m a happy bunny.

I’ve found that I’m not really missing either snack although I am hungry come meal times now where I wasn’t before.  But it’s OK to be hungry when dinner’s on the cooker, isn’t it?

I’m seeing my GP for a check up this afternoon so hopefully there will be a difference on his scale.  I’m still a bit caught up in the ‘diet club’ mentality when I weigh in with him – I don’t want to ‘disappoint’ him and it’s always a bit worrying to be weighed wearing clothes and having eaten and drunk all day before the appointment.  I know this is silly as he’s really supportive – even if his scales don’t show that I’v lost.  He can see the physical change in me.  I can see the physical change in me – my size 20 jeans are getting loose and now need a belt to prevent a bad case of workman’s bum.  When I can afford it, I’m going to try on some size 18s and see if they’re wearable yet.  I have a feeling they’ll still be a bit too tight for comfort but there’s nothing to stop me trying.

My plan for the next week is to continue eating as I have been – sensible breakfast, lunch, dinner and supper.  I’m still losing and remain lazy so I’m not committing to intentional exercise yet.  My endeavours to get to Mass daily mean I’m getting at least a little walking every day (the Church is about five minutes’ walk away) and, as the car’s still off the road, I’m getting a couple of longish walks each week.  But the thought of actually donning my trainers and setting out to walk for the sake of walking is still beyond me.  However, my walking is a whole lot easier.  My back no longer aches after 100 yards.  Actually, it doesn’t ache at all which is wonderful!

So it’s onwards and downwards for the next seven days.  I wonder how I’ll do?

Leave a Reply

