Walking on Sunshine

Seven days have passed and the challenge is over.  I’m actually feeling rather sad about that.  The only trousers I’ve worn have been PJs.  The rest of my life has been wrapped in skirts and addresses.  I promised, when I started, that I’d review the experiment and have a go at the suggested questions when it was done so here we go!

How was the experience for you?  Positive.  It’s forced me to think about how I look and behave and I’ve found life more pleasant when I’ve made an effort with my appearance.

Any particular stories?  My garage experience.

Did wearing skirts rather than pants affect the way you felt?  I’ve felt different this week – lighter and prettier – but I would attribute this to an overall making an effort rather than specifically wearing skirts.  I’ve been doing the hair’n’makeup thing most days and that’s what seems to have the greatest beneficial effect.

The way you felt about yourself?  Yes.  I feel more confident and positive about myself when I’m looking nice.  Today I’ve made no effort at all and feel rotten.  A shower is in order after lunch, I think.

The way you acted?  I don’t notice a great deal of difference here.  I’m not a tom-boy even wearing my slouchiest jeans!

The way you carried yourself?  Maybe.  I feel more valued when looking nice and that probably translates to my posture.  Actually, I have noticed myself holding my tummy in and that can only be good!

Were you able to go about everyday activity as freely as in pants?  I’ve not felt restricted this past week.  The only time I can see skirts being a problem is if I have to walk a distance and it’s too hot to wear tights.  I’m over-weight and the tops of my legs tend to rub.

How did people respond?  The main difference I noticed was at the garage on Day 3.  Everyone has been pleasant to me this week but I’ve not really encountered any other challenging situations.

Were you more respected?  At the garage, yes.  Interestingly enough, I had to take the car back in first thing on Day 4.  I was still wearing a skirt, but hadn’t done the hair’n’makeup thing and there was a marked difference in the mechanic’s attitude.  Maybe he’s not a morning person either but things didn’t improve much when I collected my vehicle that afternoon.

Did you feel more like a lady?  Yes!  Yes!  Yes!  And what’s more, I liked it!

After the challenge, do you desire to keep wearing skirts more regularly, or were you desperate to wear pants again?  I didn’t notice so much of a difference between shorts and trousers.  But I do notice a difference between taking some care with my appearance and hanging out in slob-ville.  It’s harder to be a slob in a skirt for some reason.  So I’m thinking I should resolve to make an effort no matter which mode of dress best suits the activities of the day.  With that in mind, it’s time for this slob to turn herself around …

Leave a Reply

