Walking on Sunshine

Musing Mondays

Musing Mondays

Musing Mondays

Musing Mondays is hosted by Should Be Reading.  This week’s question is:

What’s your favorite “cozy” book — and, by that, I’m meaning “curl-up-on-a-cold-day comfort read“? Or, if you don’t have a particular book, what genre do you most feel like reading when the weather starts to turn colder?

There are few things that suit me better on a cold day than curling up with a book, a hot drink, a blankie and one of the cats.  The drink’s got to be milky.  The blankie should be one I’ve made myself.  And the cat – how can I choose between my boys?  Although William’s the more likely candidate as Sam prefers to sleep in his own bed.

The book?  Well, it’s probably going to be something with a traditional, homely feel to it.  And it’s probably going to be something I already know well.   Pride and Prejudice is a candidate but doesn’t have the homely feel I’m looking for.  A Chalet School book would give me traditionalism (and alpine slopes) but, again, it’s not homely.  No, I think it has to be something by Laura Ingalls Wilder.  Speaking of which – isn’t it time I started re-reading the Little House books again?

Comments on: "Musing Mondays" (2)

  1. Good choice! 🙂 I think my choice would be a book from the Cottage Tales of Beatrix Potter series. Love, love that series. Speaking of milky..do you put milk in your tea? I tried it a while back and really liked it so I told my mom and she thought the very idea was gross. I couldn’t even get her to try it! lol Oh well, her loss. 😉

    • notjustlaura said:

      Hello sweetie 🙂

      I’ve not tried the Beatrix Potter cozies yet although I’d like to. Have been too busy with studying to read much (or even blog much) which is sad.

      I take milk in tea *and* coffee – I don’t like either without it. And sweetener. But I don’t take either if it’s a fruit or herbal tea ’cause that’d be icky.

      I didn’t realise people in America didn’t take milk in their tea – I guess it’s human nature to assume everyone else takes it the same way we do 🙂

Leave a Reply

