Walking on Sunshine

“Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.”  NRSV

I have the memory of a hen.  I’ve been convinced that I should learn some Bible verses for a long time and start every few weeks with shiny good intentions.  My resolve may hold for a day or two or even a week before it is forgotten.  I keep a note of meaningful verses and, when I’m in learning-mode, I write the chosen verse out ten times each day.  I try to meditate on the words as I write them, reminding myself of why I chose those particular words.  I should like to choose one verse each week but have never actually achieved this.  My current memory verse has been languishing on a scrap of paper for two – or is it three? – months and I’m ashamed to say I still don’t know it by heart.

My problem is really just a lack of discipline coupled with a day-dreaming habit which sucks time out of my day leaving me rushed and frustrated.  I am a faff-aholic not yet in recovery.  I want to change – and isn’t that a good place from which to start?

What I’m proposing takes the form of a meme which you may choose to join.  Each Sunday I will post my new memory verse.  During the week I will write it out and meditate.  When Sunday comes around again, I’ll write about what I’ve learned during the week and announce my new verse.  And so on.  You are welcome to join (choose your own verse or use mine) by leaving a link to your weekly post in the comments of mine.  Oh – and you’re very welcome to visit me during the week to ask how I’m doing.

I’m going to keep this neglected little verse for the coming week.  Are you going to play?

Leave a Reply

