Walking on Sunshine

Archive for June 1, 2010

The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader: TSS: When a new book isn’t a new book

The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader: TSS: When a new book isn’t a new book.

I clipped this post ages ago because new books that aren’t new books have bitten me in the past and made me very cross.  There’s nothing worse than seeing something ‘new’ from a favourite author, buying it and hurrying home to cuddle up and read for the rest of the afternoon only to find it’s a retitled volume which you’ve already read.  The waste of money doesn’t bother me so much as the feeling of disappointment.

If I worked in publishing I’m sure I’d know the reasons behind retitling.  But I don’t and I don’t.  So my plea is for retitled books to be clearly marked – and not in 6pt type underneath the copyright information!