Walking on Sunshine

Weight Maintained

I am actually very pleased to have maintained my weight over the past couple of weeks.

The last time I wrote on the subject, I told you that I had lost my focus and, indeed, I had gained three pounds.  The plan was that I should aim to lose those pounds over the next fortnight by using the Weight Watchers website.  It did not go well and, by the end of the first week, I was convinced that I would have to got to meetings again.  And then I was bitten by a cat.  Now, I have had cat bite in the past and, as such things go, this one was not that serious.  It still saw me hot–footing it to the hospital, however, we are my wounds were cleaned and I was put on antibiotics.

There are two antibiotics which can be used to treat bites and  both of them make me ill!  So I had been feeling very sorry for myself in the past week and comforting myself with food.  I am therefore very pleased to have maintained instead of gaining.

I finished the antibiotics on Saturday but, unfortunately, my digestion has not yet returned to normal.  I am taking various preparations from the health food store which should shortly achieve this.  In the meantime, I really want to get back to healthy eating.  My goal for this week, then, is to eliminate sugar from my diet once again.  I don’t know if returning to my usual blueprint of eating will make me lose weight — if I’m not digesting my food properly then, to be honest, anything might happen!  But I know all eating sugar is partially responsible for my malaise and the longer it remains in my diet, the harder it will be to eradicate.

Meantime, I have also been drinking lot of Diet Coke and Pepsi Max.  Buying a whole lot of caffeine free Diet Coke with the groceries was not the answer to my caffeine problem.  Instead of drinking lots of water and some Diet Coke, I was drinking about 5 L of Coke each day!  Should I be surprised that this made me feel ill?  This week, I shall endeavour to get back to drinking lots of water and the occasional Diet Coke.  Never drinking Diet Coke does not seem like a viable option at the moment but perhaps this will change as I start to feel better.

The third strand of my weight-loss adventure is, of course, exercise.  Up to this point, it has been easy to walk everywhere because my car was off the road.  The car now has its new brakes and is, therefore, driveable and I have immediately returned to my old habit of driving everywhere — even if the walk is shorter!  It seems that there is always an excuse — my hand hurts, my head hurts, I have my period it, it’s Tuesday!  I am intelligent enough to know that this is costing me money, fitness and won’t help my weight loss so it has to stop.  I am seriously thinking about putting the car up my parents’ drive so that, if I do have to use it, I have to walk there first.  However, I will see if I can turn things around and ‘be sensible’  with a car parked outside my house.

This is a week of new beginnings.  Healthy eating, less caffeine and more walking.  Surely a woman of average intelligence should be able to make some simple changes?

See you next week.

Comments on: "Weight Maintained" (1)

  1. Attitude is such a huge part of this challenge. It sounds like yours is in the right place. I could certainly use an adjustment in that department! I joined WW recently and have lost about 7 1/2 lbs. As much as I wanted to do well this week, I was such a slacker. Sigh. Oh well, weigh in tomorrow, change the tude, and move on, right? All the best to you this week! 🙂

Leave a comment