Walking on Sunshine

Archive for August 22, 2009

Security and Comfort

I read this post today:

A Catholic Mom climbing the Pillars: Security.

And it’s buzzing around in my mind.

If prayer gives one security, does it also give one comfort?

I can’t say that it gives me either.  It’s something that’s tacked on to the beginning of the day (sometimes).  And I try and say a quick, ‘Thank you!’  if something good happens.  But I don’t turn to prayer (and therefore don’t turn to God)  when in need of security or comfort.  And I would say here that I think security is a form of comfort.

So, given my problems with food, is prayer something I can train myself to use instead of chocolate?  Or cigarettes.

You know, I’d really like to have the kind of relationship with God that I see people writing about.  I’m not very sure how to get there but I plan to try.

Slimming

I’ve started work on the ‘Slimming‘ section of this website too.

Studying

Studying will commence on Monday.  So I’ve been building that part of the website.  Want to take a peek?

What a To-Do!

Whiteboard

Whiteboard

This, if you will, is my current To-Do List.  I got the whiteboard a week or so ago and am very pleased with it.  For some reason, it’s much more satisfying to rub something off the board than to tick it on a paper list.  Maybe there’s a teacher inside me trying to get out?

I’m using a system of prioritising which I found in one of the ‘Seven Habits‘ books.  The board is divided into four quadrants:

  1. Urgent & Important
  2. Important
  3. Urgent
  4. Not Urgent or Important

The idea is that one works in the first two quadrants and therefore concentrate on what is important rather than urgent (or not urgent or imporant).

I’m finding it very helpful to have such a strong visual of what I need to do (or just want to do!) although I’m a little worried that so many tasks have fallen into the fourth quadrant.

I think I may finally have found a method of organising myself that actually works.  How about you?  How do you prioritise your tasks and make the best use of your time?

Reviewed Books

All Aboard!

Ah, now there’s a job well done.  All the books I’ve read this year (including those I did not finish) are now available on this site.  The easiest way to find them is by visiting the Index of Authors.  Enjoy your reading!